The Minnesota Tourism Growth Coalition was created to coordinate activities to increase the marketing budget for Explore Minnesota Tourism through an increase in awareness of the importance of the tourism industry in Minnesota.

Conference Committee Action Alert – Tourism New Event Grant Funding!

We are at the final stages of the 2019 legislative session and the House, Senate, and Governor will set budget targets in the coming days.  After the leaders set these budget targets, conference committee members will make their final decisions for the coming two-year budget cycle.  We need your action now to help secure funding for the highly successful Explore Minnesota Tourism New Events Grant program.

Since 2016, the New Events Grant program has assisted communities across Minnesota attract and host events.  These local events draw tourists to our regions, cities, and towns, filing our lodges and resorts with guests, supporting our shops and restaurants, and promoting Minnesota as a key destination for tourism and hospitality.

House and Senate conferees must fully fund Explore Minnesota Tourism at its current level and fund the requested $1 million annually for the New Events Grant program.  Legislators of both parties support the grant program, and they need to hear from the tourism industry about how important it is to continue the New Event Grant program.  We need you to contact the House and Senate conferees below with this simple message:

  • Support the successful and popular Explore Minnesota Tourism New Events Grant program at $1 million annually, and;
  • Provide full funding to Explore Minnesota Tourism at their existing budget levels

It’s critical that conferees hear from us today.  There are only 13 days remaining in the legislative session – the voice of tourism supporters is what legislators need to hear!

Call and email these legislators today…encourage them to support full funding for EMT and the tourism New Events Grant program!

Thank you!

Sarah Psick, Lobbyist
Minnesota Tourism Growth Coalition

Sen. Bill Ingebrigtsen
Rep. Rick Hansen
Sen. Carrie Ruud
Rep. John Persell
Sen. Justin Eichorn
Use Mail Form
Rep. Peter Fischer
Sen. Mark Johnson
Use Mail Form
Rep. Jamie Becker-Finn
Sen. David Tomassoni
Use Mail Form
Rep. Nathan Nelson

More information about legislators can be found at